Our Trophy History

At Cottesloe Rugby Club, we have a number of trophies that are awarded each year. Many of them represent some fine men and women past and present. Here's a little background on each of our awards and what they mean to us as a Club.

Stuart Farrell Memorial Trophies “4th and 5th Grade Fairest and Best, 4th Grade Best Forward”

Stewie played 4th Grade for the club the same way he lived – hard and fast. A rough and tumble guy from New Zealand, he died in a road accident in 1971.

Womens Award “Player’s Player of the year”

Germaine ‘Geri’ Healy sponsored the Womens player of the year award after stepping down from coaching the womens team in 2013. Inevitably she couldn’t stay away and was back in a coaching role in 2015. Geri had a long and successful career playing in Ireland (including captaining the Irish Ladies team) but only briefly played for the She-Gulls on moving to WA before retiring due to injury.

Womens Awards “Best & Fairest and Most Improved”

The women's team, fondly referred to as the ‘She-Gulls’, was formed in 1996 and a number of awards were established to acknowledge the spirit, enthusiasm and achievement of this new team alongside the mens existing awards. The She-Gulls will hit 20 years next year and with substantial history and success in those years we will be looking to acknowledge key personalities through that time by ‘naming’ the awards. Watch this space!

Bob Walker Memorial Trophy “3rd Grade Fairest and Best”

Bob Walker was the epitome of the Club Official. He held the positions of Committeeman, Secretary, Club Registrar, Team Manager, Vice President and President. He came to the Club from Canberra after his playing career had finished and took up the reigns of administration with enthusiasm. He died of a heart attack in 1996.

Tony Baldwin Memorial Trophy 2nd Grade Fairest and Best”

A young tear-away Colt who graduated through to 1st and 2nd grade as a prop and goal kicker extraordinaire. Tony played in the 2nd Division 1st Grade Premiership side in 1976. He was injured in a 2nd Grade game at Harvey Field in 1977 and died some weeks after.

Harold Flack Memorial Trophy “Highest Try Scorer”

Harold Flack came to the Club in 1953 at the end of his 1st Grade career with Eastwood in N.S.W. He was a breakaway who played in and coached our 1955 Premiership side and the Club Secretary from 1956-1958. Just a few years after retiring from Club activities, he died in a road accident at Carnamah.

John “Stormy” Selkeld Memorial Trophy “Most Improved Forward Encouragement Award”

Stormy played for Cottesloe in 1998 and was a 1st grade prop. Stormy was travelling overseas when he developed a toothache that went unattended resulting in septicaemia leading to his unfortunate death. His mother donated this trophy in his honour.

John Heazelwood Trophy “Most Improved Back Encouragement Award”

John is our oldest club member and probably the oldest rugby member in WA. He regularly attends our club games and was at the 2010 grand final. With the co-operation of the State Union he was instrumental in saving the Club when it nearly folded in 1962. He joined Cottesloe in 1949. He played in the 1954 team that was undefeated until beaten by Uni (20-6) in the grand final. Referreed from 1960 to 1963. He was the Club President from 1962 to 1964. He played over 250 games including 109 1st Grade games and the WA State teams in 1954 & 1956. John initiated the Colts division to the Club in 1963.

Graham Hornell Trophy “Best Club Team-man”

Graham Hornell worked tirelessly for the club in the initial stages of moving from Cottesloe Oval to Harvey Field. He refereed in W.A., played 4ths and coached 2nd Grade before moving overseas. A member of the Perth media he had a weekly radio spot announcing local & overseas soccer results but to the consternation of the radio station, always managed to slip in the results of “his 2nd grade boys”. He has now returned to W.A. and resides in Wembley Downs.

Don Greay Memorial Trophy “Clubman of the Year”

Brother of Life Member Bevis and Lindsay, Don came to the Club via Scotch College. He was a ferocious halfback for 1st and 2nd Grades in the early 60s. In Easter 1966 at the age of 22 he died in a road accident.

Robin Reid Memorial Trophy “1st Grade Fairest and Best”

Robin was a 1st Grade 5/8th in the 1950-1960 era and Club Coach on the Perth Esplanade back in the early 60s when the club was desperate for numbers (“the lean years’). Robin retired from playing at 2nd grade level when he moved with his family to Mt Barker. In 1975 he died in a work related accident. His son, Jamie played Colts and middle order grades for Palmyra.

Peter (Mad Dog) O’Loughlin Memorial Trophy “Colts Grade Fairest and Best”

Peter “Mad Dog” O’Loughlin was a Life Member, who played all grades for Cott, but is remembered as the 4th Grade (the mighty Cs) legend. He was a Vice President and committeeman and contributed endlessly as a sponsor of the Club. A good basketballer, he formed, played and coached a CRUFC basketball team that lasted a couple of seasons and consisted of other Club notorieties such as Richard and Geoff Eastaugh, Terry Martin, Lindsay Hosking and Milton Hunt. Pete died in 1995 after a long illness.

The Norm McLeod Trophy “Colt with the Most Potential”

Norm was a life Member of the Club who played in the post-WW2 years era, although when the club was short, was seen to don the boots on several occasions in the early sixties. Norm played in the 1955 & 1956 premiership teams along with another Life Member, the Late Lou Kelly. Apart from holding a number of admin. positions in the club, he was joint Club coach in 1951 and Club Captain in 1951 to 1953

Ric (Doggo) Roberts Memorial Trophy U18 Colts B&F (not awarded this year)

Doggo joined Cottesloe in 1955 as a player and held various committee positions over the years, including Vice President, Secretary & Club Captain. He was regarded as part of the furniture and was much loved by all who know him. His historical knowledge of the rugby club was amazing and it was all Doggo's hard work that put names to the 1898 Pirate's photo that hangs proudly in the clubrooms.

Ric was a Life Member of Cottesloe Rugby (1982), WA Referees (1995), City of Perth Surf Club (1974), WA Surf Life Saving (1991), Australian Surf Life Saving (2008). He was awarded a World Life Saving Citation (1990), the Australian Sports Medal (2000), Inaugural City of Mandurah - Peel Volunteer (2007), State President’s Order of Merit Medal (2008) and in 2009 he was awarded an Order of Australia Medal in the Queens Birthday Honours List for his services to surf lifesaving, rugby union and the community.